Citizen Science «Zurich Style»

The activities of the Citizen Science Center Zurich focus on exploring, supporting, and promoting Citizen Science. Citizen Science is a form of public participation in scientific research (where “citizen” denotes a member of the general public, independent from citizenship) that has been around for more than a century.

Example: In the Galaxy Zoo project, hundreds of thousands of citizens have helped astronomers classify millions of images of galaxies coming from international telescopes (2007 – 2017) galaxyzoo.org

Public participation in science is a practice that works across many disciplines and that comes in different flavours and with different names, including community based research, crowd-sourced data collection, community-based monitoring, civic science, and more. What characterizes Citizen Science is the collaboration of professional scientists and citizens, the active involvement of both, and the engagement of citizens in potentially all phases of the research process.

In Zurich, we promote this participatory approach, and support projects that bring citizen and academic scientists together. In these projects citizens are aware of all phases of the research process, are able to make an informed decision on the phases they want to take part in, and have an easy channel to share this decision with academics.

Zurich has a long tradition in many forms of participatory research. You can see some of the projects from the past here.

Next Generation Citizen Science

The main goal of scientific research, including Citizen Science projects, is to produce excellent science to advance our understanding of the world we leave in. We strongly believe that it should also empower society with a form of actionable understanding, ie. with the opportunity to produce data for change.

The Citizen Science Center Zurich Center aims at supporting next generation Citizen Science, ie. projects that use the latest collaborative technologies and the highest quality standards to produce excellent science and quality open data that can help citizens, communities and governments to move toward a more sustainable world.

Principles

Excellence

The Citizen Science Center wants to develop and implement projects that reflect the highest standards possible in term of scientific rigor, data security, and ethics.

Participation

The Center aims at developing an active and productive participation at the different phases of the scientific research project, from funding allocation, topic selection, and research design, to execution, interpretation, and dissemination of results.

Openness

The Center adheres to the principles of open science (open access to data and publications) and operates in a fully transparent manner, ensuring that the public benefits from our work.

Sustainability

We want to ensure continuity in project support and knowledge dissemination. Therefore the development and maintenance of a community including both scientists and citizen scientists associated with the Center is vital.

Benefits of Citizen Science

For Scientists

The methodology offers Scientists the potential to tackle research questions with large datasets on a wide geographical area. It also allows for a much more dynamic and interactive approach to the formulation of hypotheses, research design, and data analysis.

For Citizens

With their volunteer activity, Citizens increase their knowledge and literacy about the topic studied, gain insight into the scientific process and method, and acquire new technological skills and abilities.

For Society

For the benefit of the wider SOCIETY, outcomes of Citizen Science projects include community development and empowerment, change of attitudes and behaviours, and renewed engagement in policy making.

Sign up for our Newsletter

We use cookies to improve your experience on our sites.

Citizen Science «Züri Style»

Am Citizen Science Center Zürich sehen wir unsere Aufgabe im Erkunden, Unterstützen und Verbreiten von Citizen Science, zu deutsch Bürgerwissenschaft. Citizen Science hat sich in den letzten 100 Jahren immer mehr etabliert; man versteht darunter die Beteiligung der breiten Öffentlichkeit an wissenschaftlicher Forschung. Ein Citizen Scientist kann jede und jeder werden, unabhängig von Herkunft und Staatsangehörigkeit.

Beispiel: Im Projekt Galaxy Zoo haben hunderttausende Citizen Scientists anhand von Teleskopaufnahmen Millionen von Galaxien klassifiziert. (2007 – 2017) galaxyzoo.org

Die Beteiligung von nicht professionell wissenschaftlich tätigen Personen in der Forschung ist eine Praxis, die viele Formen annehmen kann: Community based research, Crowdsourcing, community-based monitoring, civic science und mehr. Was Citizen Science dabei besonders ausmacht, ist die Zusammenarbeit von professionellen Wissenschaftlern mit Bürgerinnen, die aktive Beteiligung von beiden Seiten und die Mitwirkung der forschenden Bürger potenziell in allen Phasen des Forschungsprozesses.

In Zürich möchten wir diesen partizipativen Ansatz stärken und Projekte unterstützen, die Bürger und professionelle Wissenschaftler zusammen bringen. In solchen Projekten kennen die Citizen Scientists alle Phasen des Forschungsprozesses, sind in der Lage selbst zu entscheiden, an welchen Phasen Sie sich beteiligen möchten und können Ihre Entscheidung den Forschenden einfach und direkt übermitteln.

Zürich hat eine lange Tradition in vielen Formen partizipativer Forschung. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl vergangener Projekte.

Next Generation Citizen Science

Das grösste Ziel wissenschaftlicher Forschung, einschliesslich Citizen Science, besteht darin, die Welt, in der wir leben, besser zu verstehen. Wir finden ausserdem, dass die Wissenschaft der Gesellschaft ein gewisses Mass an «anwendbarem Wissen und Verständnis» zur Verfügung stellen sollte, das Bürgerinnen und Bürger dazu befähigt, neue Daten und gewonnenes Wissen für konkrete Veränderungsprozesse zu nutzen.

Das Citizen Science Center Zürich unterstützt zukunftsweisende Citizen Science Projekte, die moderne Kollaborations-Technologien nutzen, die höchste wissenschaftliche Standards einhalten und exzellente Forschung betreiben und die Open Data produzieren, um Bürgern, Communities und Regierungen zu helfen, mehr Nachhaltigkeit zu erreichen.

Prinzipien

Exzellenz

Das Zentrum entwickelt Projekte unter Einhaltung der höchsten Standards in Bezug auf wissenschaftliche Exzellenz, Datensicherheit und Ethik.

Teilhabe und Teilnahme

Bürgerinnen und Bürger sollen aktiv an den verschiedenen Phasen des Forschungsprozesses teilhaben können: Von der Art der Förderung und der Wahl des Themas, über das Forschungsdesign bis hin zu Ausführung, Auswertung und Veröffentlichung der Ergebnisse.

Offenheit

Das Center richtet sich nach den Grundsätzen von Open Science (offener Zugang zu Daten und Veröffentlichungen) und agiert völlig transparent, um sicherzustellen, dass unsere Arbeit der Allgemeinheit zu Gute kommt.

Nachhaltigkeit

Wir möchten Kontinuität in der Projektunterstützung und der Weitergabe von Wissen gewährleisten. Die Entwicklung und Pflege einer Gemeinschaft von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Bürgern ist uns deshalb besonders wichtig.

Was bringt Citizen Science?

Für Wissenschaftler

Sie können Forschungsfragen mit extrem umfangreichen Datensätzen oder einer grossen geografischen Reichweite beantworten. Auch die Formulierung von Hypothesen, das Forschungsdesign und die Datenanalyse können dynamischer und interaktiver gestaltet werden.

Für Bürger

Sie erhöhen durch ihre freiwillige Teilnahme ihr Wissen und ihr Verständnis des Forschungsgegenstandes. Sie bekommen Einblicke in wissenschaftliche Abläufe und Methoden und eignen sich neue technologische Fähigkeiten an.

Für die Gesellschaft

Sie profitiert von den sozialen Aspekten von Citizen Science, wie etwa der Bildung und Befähigung von Gemeinschaften und dem Knüpfen von sozialen Kontakten für die Beteiligten. Auch Bewusstseinswandel, positive Verhaltensänderungen oder mehr politisches Engagement sind mögliche Benefits.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Wir verwenden Cookies zur Verbesserung unserer Websites.